How to embroider a nose on a teddy bear

October 8, 2011 Amber
Tags: , , ,

I have had a few people ask me how I do my noses so I thought I would do a picture tutorial.  This is by no means the only or even the best way, but this is how I do it and so far it has worked lol.  Also, I’m not the best at always explaining in writing and even though there are pics that should help, if you have any questions don’t be afraid to ask.

First you will need to make the muzzle… or if you are making a teddy and don’t do the muzzle you can just do this straight on the head.  Then you will need a needle that is big enough to thread your embroidery thread through.  Note:  for thread bears I just use sewing thread that I have doubled.  Knot the thread after you have threaded it through the needle head.   The thread should be doubled now.

1) Ok, so now you need to figure out how big you want the muzzle to be.  I usually do it 4 stitch holes across. I do a triangle for the nose so there will be 3 corners.  I start at one of the top corners and going in from the back, pull the needle and thread through (see pic)

1

2) Now count four stitch holes across and go into the hole from the front.  This forms the top line of the nose.

2

3) Next from the back pull needle and thread through the hole below the big hole… so descriptive I know lol but I have no clue what to call it.

3

4) Now go into one of the top corner stitches from the front.  This forms one of the sides.

4

5) Go back into the bottom corner and pull needle and thread through front and go into the other top corner.  Now you have a triangle.  This is pretty much just a guide to follow while you close in the nose.

5

6) Now we need to fill in the nose.  Come back up through the bottom corner and go down into the middle of the top line.  Work over the original triangle lines you made.

6

7) We will fill one side at a time.  Repeat the above step 2 more times, moving over on the top line slightly.

7

8 ) Now, come up through the next hole beside the bottom corner and go through beside where you just went through on the top line.

8

9) Do the same thing but go through the next hole on the side.

9

Okay, you’re done the one side for now.  You should have this:

Now do the other side the same way you did the first side.

 

Come through the bottom corner and go into one of the top corners.  This will clean up the side.  Do the same for the other side.

You can either leave it like this or clean up the top of the nose.  Go from one top corner to the other.

You’re done the nose.  You can add a mouth if you want.  Going from the bottom corner I go through one hole down (I do this twice so the line is more visible).  Then go 2 holes over on either side (I do twice as well).  This is where you can add a bit of an expression by doing one side of the smile longer than the other or only doing one side, doing more of a straight line or even making the lines point down.

Note:  You might have tiny gaps in the nose.. I usually do… that’s ok.  Take a sharpie or felt pen in the colour you did the nose (this is why I usually do black noses lol) and just colour it in.

Entry Filed under: Crochet,Tutorials

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. PricklyBear  |  October 9, 2011 at 4:25 am

    Thank you, this really helps. My teddy bear noses usually end up like a circle, but the triangular shape is really nice and more real.

    • 2. Amber  |  October 9, 2011 at 2:41 pm

      Thanks! If you have any questions just ask 🙂

  • 3. Can't Stop Crocheting  |  October 9, 2011 at 10:46 am

    Thank you for the tutorial. Triangle noses have always been one of my weak spots. I have a few faces I need to embroider on amis just waiting for noses and mouths. I’ll have to give this a try and hopefully my nose will look better than usual.

    • 4. Amber  |  October 9, 2011 at 2:40 pm

      Thanks! Hope the tutorial helps. If anything is confusing just ask.

  • 5. artist1946  |  January 1, 2012 at 9:53 am

    This is a great tutorial. I too always have a bit of a problem with my noses. But I will put this to work. I want to thank you for your work as I know it takes lots of time. I also want to say I am glad to be a newbie here.

    • 6. Amber  |  January 16, 2012 at 3:44 pm

      Thank you 🙂


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts

 
