Gobble, Gobble

October 16, 2009 Amber

Last weekend was Turkey day here in Canada-land. Mike and I were going to my grandparents house for dinner, like we usually do. This year though, because of the diabetes, my grandmother wasn’t going to make a pie, so I volunteered to. I have never made a pumpkin pie, especially not from scratch. So I searched online for a good recipe and after finding one, bought all the ingredients. After a long day at a bead show with my grandmother and my cousin Louise -seriously, as if my grandmother needs any more beads. My room at her house is FILLED with beads- I set out to make this pumpkin pie, sugar free of course.

I had some trouble with the crust. I had to make it twice because the first time I made it it crumbled when I tried to put it into the pie plate. I almost cried. Seriously. I had already been making this pie for a couple of hours now and the thought of having to toss it brought me to tears lol. I have made pie crust before, many times, but I don’t use a recipe. I should have just done what I usually do.
But I digress.
So I pre baked the crust, because that is what the recipe told me to do then I put the filling in and put it back in the oven.

burnt edge :(

burnt edge 😦

When I checked it about 15mins later the edges were beginning to burn. UGH! Then I remembered seeing something about putting tin foil around pan handles and putting it in the oven. Surely if that works then I could just wrap tin foil around my pie, leaving only the filling open. Sucess! it worked and the only thing burnt is the edge, the bottom was nice and golden. And to top it off it was delicious.

Mmmm

Mmmm

The recipe I used made 2 pies, but I was NOT making another crust so looking in my pantry I found a graham craker crust mix. Using that, I make a bar type thing. Was very good, better than the pie actually.

Entry Filed under: Baked,Food

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jesse Adams  |  March 14, 2012 at 12:07 am

    You can go to this site and make an Impossible pumpking pie. There is no pie crust persee but makes a very thin one with the bisquick that you use in the mix. Takes just minutes to put it together
    http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Impossible-Pumpkin-Pie
    Jess Adams, Sacramento, Ca.

    • 2. Amber  |  December 14, 2012 at 7:34 pm

      thanks!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
