Blocked, washed and ready to go, FOs, WIPs and other stuffs

October 9, 2009 Amber

I cleaned the house today, just in case I go out tomorrow.

No momma I'm too cute to move!

No momma I'm too cute to move!

So I was tidying up or at least trying to when Jack decided he wanted to lay down right when I was straightening out the couch cover.
Told you I was cute

Told you I was cute


He likes to chase the broom, play in the dirt I am trying to sweep up and attack the clothes I am folding. I thought I’d take a couple pictures of him to prove how devious he is.

FO’s
I’m participating in a couple swaps at Crochetville.  For those that don’t know,  a swap is where you join a swap topic -sweater, snowflake, scarf etc,  are assigned a partner, then you make each other whatever the topic is about.  You can also add “goodies” to your package, you don’t have to but I think most people do.  Like I said, I joined 2 recently;  the Shawl/wrap swap and the Scarf swap.  I have been so lucky to have wonderful partners; Carolyn and Karen. 

I just finished washing up the shawls and then I will package them up to send off on Saturday.  I’m really excited and can’t wait to see how she likes them!

pretty ripples

pretty ripples

The first is a wrap I made without a pattern;  just a simple ripple stitch pattern.  I used just shy of 3 balls Bernat Satin in Admiral and almost 3 balls of Bernat Satin in Sapphire and a size 5mm hook.  It took me a few weeks to make, only because I had to stop for a week or two because I ran out of the Admiral color and couldn’t find it anywhere. I finally had to get my grandfather to go to Michael’s to get me 2 balls.  Over all I’m pretty happy with how it turned out.  Oh and it’s longer than it looks in the picture; it’s hanging over the edges of the table.

This shawl is off the Lionbrand website called the Half Moon Shawl. DCFC0231 I can’t say enough about this pattern. Although it could have been edited and written better, the pattern is SO easy and quick. I think I did half of the entire thing in one night. I used Bernat Softee Chunky in soft taupe and a size 10mm hook.

DCFC0234 This is the Aphrodite Shawl from the Caron website- there are a lot of cute patterns on that site BTW. Made in Bernat Baby Sport in Lavender and a size 6mm hook. This pattern could have been written better as well and gave me some troubles. I wasn’t sure if it would be long enough -judging from the pattern picture- so I added a row before the pineapples start. It doesn’t look the same as it does on the model, but I think it is still very pretty. I had to block lightly to help the shape.

Swap Goodies

Swap Goodies

The swap goodies; 3 shawls, 3 flavoured hot chocolates, a book for her sons, and a cupcake made of soap. I plan on shipping it all out either tomorrow or Sunday, depending on if I go out tomorrow.

Yarn WIP’s
Mike’s daughter was over this past weekend. We finally have a house where we can have a guest room, which, and I don’t mind, is in my computer room. My computer room is also my crafting room. I have all my yarn and sewing stuff in there as well. So anyway, Tabby was over and she was telling me -as we looked at some of thing I had made- that one of her friends from school had a poncho that her mother had made her. Then she saw this ball of yarn and, picking it up, sighed “this would make a nice poncho”. I took that as a not so subtle hint since every time she saw the yarn she said this to me. Finally I told her that we could look online to see if we could find a pattern she liked and I would make her one, using the beloved yarn of course. So we looked and looked and we found no patterns that she liked. TBH I didn’t like any of them either and I’ve never made a poncho before so I couldn’t even just make up a pattern. Then we came across the Lacy Shell Poncho and she LOVED it, couldn’t stop talking about it.
I was having a bit of trouble with it at first -funny how the simple patterns are always the ones that give you a headache. TABBY PONCHO WIP It wasn’t sitting as it should and was ruffling, which it shouldn’t do. But with some help/advise from someone at Crochetville, I figured it out.
I had to change to a bigger hook size. Luckly with this stitch pattern being as easy and fast as it is, it wasn’t a big deal to start over.
TABBY PONCHO WIP2 I’m really liking how it is turning out. I will probably make a couple more in different colors when this one is finished.

SWAP SCARF YARN My partner said she likes dark blue and I have enough yarn left over from the ripple wrap to make a scarf for the Winter Scarf Swap. I really like this color blue. The picture makes it look a bit dull, but the yarn has a nice sheen and is such a rich color.

Entry Filed under: Crochet,FOs,Swaps,WIPS

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
